1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cars

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Flyers2011, Feb 19, 2011.

1. Flyers2011

My mom and I went looking for cars today because we're going to get one for me to work and go to college.

We're looking for something $5,000 or under, that runs well and gets good gas. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to look for or how to wheel and deal with the seller?

Thanks guys :slight_smile:

2. lostinthought9

Well, that depends, about how old do you want the car to be? I'm assuming you only want a car, and not a small SUV, or a small truck? What about brand loyalty?

As a college student, I wish I would have maybe gotten a small SUV instead of the coupe I have now. It would have made moving back and forth ALOT easier. Just a tip.

3. EM68

You may want to look at Hondas or Toyotas. They are on the top of preowned car list. They are tops for loyalty and lowest cost of ownership. Whatever car you buy before you do so get a Carfax to check out the history. If the car has a major accident, salvaged title or anything that sounds suspicious walk away. This is a good weekend to look around being Presidents Day weekend. So many dealers are looking to wheel and deal. But don't feel presured to do anything unless you are totally comfortable with everything. Good luck. :slight_smile:

4. Flyers2011

I saw a really nice Ford Ranger today, but when we test drove it it had a knock in the engine and the front shook really bad. So it was a definite no, but small trucks (Rangers, S10s, Sonomas) are at the top of my list.

I hate small cars, because they're uncomfortable for sure. And where I live everyone drives huge trucks and if I get hit by one of them I'm toast.

Brand loyalty would mainly be Chevy, but I would mostly like it to be American made at the least. I don't mind Toyota and Honda, but I've been driving a Chevy lately so I'm used to that lol.