1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

University financial aid question? I'm an international student, so I don't know much

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Cantthinkofone, Aug 25, 2011.

1. Cantthinkofone

I am sorry in advance if this question seems stupid or obvious...I really don't know much about this. OK, so I am going to be applying to universities in the U.S this fall/winter as an international student. I will require financial aid at least to cover the whole tuition. My family's financial situation makes me eligible for need-based aid and my academic record makes me eligible for merit-based aid. My question is, if I am applying to a uni that's offering both of these to international students can I apply to both at the same time?

2. Ethan

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Re: University financial aid question? I'm an international student, so I don't know

I think that it would be best to contact the universities you are applying to, since they sometimes have different policies. I don't really know how international financial aid works.

3. Raeil

Re: University financial aid question? I'm an international student, so I don't know

Most of the time, if you apply for both, universities will consider both. As Nazo said, though, the best thing is to contact the different universities through phone or email and ask them directly (or search their websites).

Also, you might consider asking what happens if you apply for and receive both. For me, I am allowed a maximum of 22K per year (tuition + room and board + books + 1K for spending), and if my Merit Based Aid goes down, my Need Based Aid increases to offset the decrease in funding.

4. Re: University financial aid question? I'm an international student, so I don't know