1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Negative Attitude Towards bottoming?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by theWorldisYours, Dec 5, 2011.

1. theWorldisYours

I've been out in college since fall now, and since then I've met a lot of gay friends. One of my best friends, and future roommate, is gay. When the conversation turns to sex he always makes it very clear that he's a top, has never bottomed, and never intends to. He even makes a bunch of puns all the time about how he's a top. Since hearing all of this, I've also heard a lot of my other gay friends talk about their sex lives. In one joking conversation, two of my friends were teasing each other about how one of them bottoms more than he tops.

I'm new to the gay and open community, and was just wondering where all of this insecurity about bottoming is coming from? I'm still a virgin, but confidently tell my friends that I'm versatile, because let's be honest, how can we know we don't like something if we've never tried it. Back to the point. Do guys in the gay community consider bottoms lesser gays or something? are they considered to be more gay then tops? someone please explain.

2. robclem21

I think it is just mostly personal preference. I know personally I have only ever been a top, but I have definitely been interested in trying to bottom with the right person of course. I don't think it makes any difference or has anything to do with someones personality, level being gay or comfort level with being gay. Everyone likes different things when it comes to sex and that can apply to any couple straight or gay.

3. Mogget

Traditionally, the view had been that only receivers, whether of oral or anal, were gay. This is still a common belief, stemming from the idea that all a guy needs is a warm, wet hole.

4. Owen

In Loving Memory Full Member