1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Eating out alone

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Lad123, Jul 5, 2012.

1. Lad123

After reading the 'going to the movies alone' thread It made me think about people going to restaurants alone. I work part-time in a restaurant you see, and we get the occasional 'for one' customer.

Personally I don't think I could do it... I would get super awkward with everyone staring. Would it not be better to get a takeaway instead?

Is there anyone here that does do it?

2. Catkin

Yup I've done that. This country doesn't have have a big take-away culture, and I don't know anyone here, so if I want a break from cooking I haven't really got much choice. I've never noticed anyone staring, I think you just imagine that people are because you feel self conscious going into a restaurant alone. I kill the awkwardness by bringing a book to read while I wait for my food, and Isit somewhere near a window so I can people watch, it makes eating alone less boring.

3. The Escapist

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Other
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I never eat out, but I don't see the big deal. I would do it.

4. Bradley

I wouldn't do it in my own town, but if I am traveling I have no problem doing it.

5. King

King Guest

I don't eat out alone. Just because I generally hate the public and I don't like eating in public. That being said, I have frequented one diner with my best friend and we eat there sometimes... But when I'm with someone I shove food down my throat, so it's a beautiful sight.
    I work at a kind-of-fast-food type restaurant, and we often get people who are alone. It's only weird if you make it out to be. Most people just stop by to grab something to eat before leaving to catch the bus (the bus station is right outside of my workplace) so it's not really bizarre.

King x

6. justinf

Gender Pronoun:
    He