1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Who here has a "useless" degree?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by SriManayaDasan, Oct 4, 2012.

1. I'm currently getting a B.A. in Journalism and I've considered getting an M.A. or PhD in Religion and Philosophy; and perhaps becoming a college professor in said area.

I can't count how many times people have told me that those degrees are useless and how I'm going to end up homeless in a park with a bible in hand. Okay, I made that last part up, but I'm surprised no one has made that joke yet.

Out of curiosity, how many of you have "useless" college degrees? How many of you have done something with said degrees?

2. midwestgirl89

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I have been told a lot that my degree is "useless." I've been told it's dumb, an easy subject, and common sense. :dry: I graduated with a B.A. in Sociology and a minor in Religious Studies. I hope to get a PhD in Sociology. I haven't done anything with my degree yet but I just graduated in May.

Personally I find it really rude when people tell us our degrees are useless. They should get off their high horse.

3. Ticklish Fish

Journalism is not that dumb... but -personally- i don't like journalism for playing with words to try to provoke emotion out of readers...

religious studies... i am iffy about that. But I can definitely see sociology come into play somewhere...

and i am major in science, so lol.

4. BudderMC

My degree will be useless if I decide I don't like the field enough to work in it...

5. O_Negative

I'm art education. Yep. I'm gonna be an art teacher. Thing is, my generation will have plenty of jobs opening up in the next couple years...so it WON'T be as difficult/useless as people think.

Though if I'd gone for studio art like I wanted...well there's a reason they call em "starving artists" heh

6. sugarcubeigloo