1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xmas on a budget.

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by MixedNutz, Dec 3, 2012.

1. MixedNutz

Way are some great gift ideas 50 dollars an under?

I'm new to the Xmas thing.

2. rday13

rday13 Guest

Are you shopping for a few people, or a single person?
    Small items are usually a nice touch when shopping on a budget.
    Some people like to find lots of little creative 'stocking stuffers', i.e. little gifts (think hand sanitizer, decorative soaps, mini board games).
    And I have friends who prefer to make their own gifts, like one friend last year who gave me a knitted black cashmere scarf. If you're good with making small gifts, or wish to engage your creative talents, it's perfect for Xmastime.
    As an example of what I used to do for my college profs - bake them something, wrap it up nicely, and maybe include a bottle of wine (especially if I did well in their courses, lol).

3. Bree

How can you be new to Christmas? Religious reasons?

The cheapest gifts? MAKE things.
    My favourite one to make involves mixing peanut butter and icing sugar together into a thick dough--as thick as you can make it. Roll it into little balls not much bigger than marbles, and put them in the fridge. When they're chilled, melt good dark chocolate (I do it in a double boiler on the stove). Drop the dough into the chocolate one at a time and cover them in chocolate; pull them out before they melt and put them on a tray with wax paper over it. Put them back in the fridge. Makes little peanut butter chocolates that taste like healthy Reese's cups.

4. BudderMC

MAKE SOMETHING!

Seriously, it always frustrates me to no end when people feel they need to buy something for someone else because it's Christmas. The idea of Christmas is to give a gift with the recipient in mind; it's the effort that counts. So if you can't think of something to buy them, make something!