1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Accounting as a career

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Anon2012, Jan 27, 2013.

1. Anon2012

Hey. Anyone here ever work or know anyone who works in accounting?

It's something I'm thinking about as a side career if needed and something to study. It seems like something that has potential to be a sustainable career as well as room for growth for people who do it.

I'm starting to work with my cousins company which I think has potential but I think it couldn't hurt to have another profession on hand in case it's needed.

#1 Anon2012, Jan 27, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  2. OMGWTFBBQ

Out Status:
    A few people
    l have a friend who started at around 70K entry level.

She's very cut out for it. l don't think most people would be necessarily "bad" at it, but l know it's not for me. l'm just not the type, and l'm in CS so my major is boring in its own special way.

But if l were the type l'd go for it, especially as a side gig.

Also know an actuary who is ballin sonNnNnNnN

3. ChandlerCurious

I have an accounting degree. I have found that it is pretty easy to find a job even in tough economic times because all companies need accountants. The downside is after a while accounting can be a bit tiedious after being in the field for a while. I am now on the audit side of things because after years of doing the day to day accounting I needed a change

4. prism

I'm an accountant, though it's not what I'm studying in college. Like everyone else said, it's a very stable career and you can make decent money.

For me, it's a means to an end. I'll only be doing it until I pay off my loans and help my family with their finances. I would definitely recommend interning so you can get a feel for the environment and the routine.

5. hello1992