1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I am now an expert on God.

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by SupremeEmperor, Mar 13, 2013.

1. The greatest prejudices against LGBT people always seem to come from the religious, particularly clergy. From preists forced to parrot the church's line to Baptist ministers who think getting a degree in "theology" from a two-bit, not accredited college in the backwoods of Alabama makes them an expert on God's plan for all humans. I am proud to say I have joined this proud tradition. I have found an Internet church that ordained me (for free in under 5 minutes) and thus am now Rev. SupremeEmperor. Everything I say is the word of God and anyone who disagrees with me will burn in hell.

2. Quaiv

Great! Do they ordain atheists too? I'd like to join :grin:

Edit : "The Universal Life Church is the only religious and spiritual denomination in the world that opens its door to all and welcomes all who ask to get ordained, granting ordination without questions as to religious and spiritual beliefs." Perfect.

#2 Quaiv, Mar 13, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2013
  3. BudderMC

Technically, being a minister wouldn't make you an "expert" on God, just a man of God.

4. BMC77

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Absolutely correct.

Unfortunately, though, many fundamentalist ministers seem to think they know God better than God knows himself.

5. Dalmatian

Yep. The brightest and most accomplished of theologians I ever spoke to were also the ones who repeatedly said something like: "I've devoted my life to studying the mystery of God. It is my goal to try to understand as much as He meant for us to be able to understand".

And then there are those local ministers who go more along the lines of: "Is your neighbour different than most people in our community? Let me explain why it's ok by God to hate them."