1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Thinking of posting this as my Facebook status

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by hkboy93, Mar 27, 2013.

1. hkboy93

Just a little background on me first, I am a Canadian originally born in Hong Kong. I am now in second year University in Canada. I spent Grade 10-12 at an International School in Beijing (only foreigners allowed) and made/ got to know a lot of American friends. Most of you probably know about the whole gay marriage drama right now in the U.S. So I was planning on posting this as my FB status

"To the Americans who are still anti-gay marriage, It is time to put down the bible and be more socially progressive already. It's been legal in Canada nation wide since 2005 as well as a number of European countries. The sky has not fallen, "traditional marriage" still exists, gays have not overrun or overwhelmed the country, and gays have not turned anyone straight, gay. For those of you who say "It's against my religion or the bible", keep in mind that the bible does not stipulate the law and that you are trying to impose your religious beliefs on others. No one is forcing you to marry the person of the same gender so do not deny the right and will of those who want to marry the same gender. You can have the right to freedom of religion, but the LGBT community and others also have the right of freedom from religion. Also those arguing "think of the children" should look into the mirror for upbringing a child to be intolerant, you can choose to be ignorant and full of hatred, but you cannot choose to be gay as they were born this way. If you do believe in a God, then God also created gays. Science has proven there is no harm to a child's well being having two mothers or fathers. For those of you who disagree with me and still want to deny equal rights for all, please un-friend me as I have no desire to be friends with bigots. Rant over"