1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Los Angeles Love

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Duplexaxis, Apr 16, 2013.

1. Duplexaxis

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Okay so a little background. I'm an English guy, bisexual, and I'm visiting my friend in LA this summer. Its my first time ever in the USA and I'm a bit nervous. Are people generally accepting? Bear in mind that I'm of university age as is my friend

2. LD579

Well, it may depend where you are. More urban places would generally be more inclined to being more accepting to same sex attraction. As for whether they'd be accepting of you as an English guy... People will eat up your accent. I know I would. Haha, really, accents are quite charming. L.A. in general is more liberal than, say... Texas, or something. I don't think you have anything to worry about (I go to L.A. to visit family. Of course, it's not like I've gone to bars or anything, so yeah...).

You and your friend, and perhaps other friends, may wish to go to Las Vegas. It's like a 3 hour drive, but you may find it quite, quite fun (Even just for shopping or other things besides gambling). Of course, you may have to find a hotel that's at a fiscally reasonable price...

Welcome to EC =) If you have any more concerns or queries or anything of the sort, feel free to post. There may be other issues or things you're curious about, and if so, I'd recommend that you look at some of the threads on this forum / site.

EDIT: Accents aren't a big deal, but lots of people will likely enjoy the sound of your voice. It may sound creepy to you, but it's not supposed to be. As for appearing to be an uptight brit... It depends. People are more likely to not repress their feelings, and people are more likely to let their mouths run (In non-professional / casual settings).

You may be perceived as reserved, perhaps. I don't know you so... It's hard to definitively say.