1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gay teachers?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by otc877, Apr 10, 2008.

1. otc877

otc877 Guest

I'm curious to know if there are any teachers on this board, if so...

1) What do you teach//what level (high school, etc)?
    2) Are you out to your classes//colleagues?
    3) Any adverse reactions within the field
    4) Do you reprimand students who use the ever popular 'that's so gay'

I'm curious mainly because this is the profession I see myself in, and I'm curious to know what it's like for somebody... similar to myself in that respect.

Thanks in advance,
    Chaz

EDIT: I guess the same could apply to students with openly gay teachers. So, ya. Have at it :slight_smile:

2. Gerry

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Well I am a student right now, studying to be a teacher. I don't know if that counts. Lol. I have a little while left to go. But I'll be there someday. I will not be open with my classes, but I'm sure it will be obvious anyways. :slight_smile:

3. dreamfinder

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    One of my professors is gay (im sure)

1) What do you teach//what level (high school, etc)? College sociology
    2) Are you out to your classes//colleagues? Not officialy but has made comments that can confirm it.
    3) Any adverse reactions within the field Not to my knowledge
    4) Do you reprimand students who use the ever popular 'that's so gay' YES!! it is great when he does.

4. Maddy

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    One of the teachers at my school is gay. He taught me English last year and he was actually one of the first people I came out to other than close friends. He's one of my favourite teachers ever.
    -He teaches English and literature to year 11 and 12 students.