1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Job

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by stumble along, May 17, 2013.

1. stumble along

Hello!
    at the title suggest im applying for my first job at a petstore, and the application is online (i have a feeling job interviews in general have skewed away from what it used to be because no one ever told me you had to apply through website)
    right now its smooth sailing except for the fact that I have no idea who to put for references!
    Im currently in the summer after my first year in college, just FYI

i can think of five people to use for personal references (the only thing I can put since i have no job experience) but they all have hang ups

1. My junior year AP environmental science teacher, the hang up being its been 2 years since the class and one year since ive talked to her

2. my last semester studio professor, hang up being my final official grade got changed (for the better btw) and I dont want to ask for another favor on top of all that paper work involved in changing it. And he says i have shit time management skills (which i know of and im working on it, but imo might be best to say that in person than have it found out through a reference)

3. first semester studio professor, hangup being she is the lead professor in last years studio so shes also caught up in the paper work :X

4. last years art history proffesor, hangup being I had/have a bunch of mental stuff on my plate and i nearly failed the second semester (first one got an A) but i talked to her and she helped me bring my grade up to a B and shes really nice

5. first semesters studio TA, hang up being a graduate student? she loves my work but idk ?

thanks for what you guys think! and if you have any other tips on job stuff id love to hear it!

and if anyone knows where the thing to make a poll is thatd be helpful too :slight_smile:

2. Dublin Boy

Dublin Boy Guest