1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Letter to a teacher

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by AwesomGaytheist, May 30, 2013.

1. AwesomGaytheist

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I thought you guys might like the letter I wrote to a teacher I had in HS. I graduate high school tomorrow, and as I was sending notes to people who helped me along the way, a small card and a picture wasn't going to cut it. Here's what I wrote to him:

Dear Mr. (censored),

I was sending out thank you notes to the people who've helped me over the last 4 years, and you don't know how much you've helped me.

When I first set foot in your class in 2009, I was a scared freshman, intimidated by not just the size of the building, but scared of someone finding out my secret.

People have asked me why I watch politics the way I do, and I give them the dodging answer, which is still true, that I watch politics like I watch college football because I find it entertaining. The two sides going at it in a fierce battle, it's amusing, and unlike a football game, the game doesn't ever end. But that's not the whole reason.

As a government/law teacher, we had a couple conversations two months ago about two Supreme Court cases that were being argued, Hollingsorth v. Perry, and United States v. Windsor, deciding the constitutionality of a state ban on gay marriage, and the federal Defense of Marriage Act. I had such a keen interest in it because it's personal: I'm gay.