1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Exchange to the U.S. - Where should I go? :s

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Luke Matt, Jun 2, 2013.

1. Luke Matt

G'day EC'ers!

To give you guys a bit of context:

- I'm a university student from Melbourne, Victoria, Australia :slight_smile:
    - I'm planning on going to the U.S. next year on exchange (for a semester/~6 months)

Do most of the universities in the U.S. have an active social culture (e.g. social events, parties... that sort of thing), host pretty big sporting events etc? The universities 'down under' (at least in my experience) don't really have an active social culture in comparison to the U.S. (most of us don't live on campus so...). Also, what's the public transport like in America? I'd like to be able to take a bus/train to the closest capital city but I'm not sure if that'll be possible (My friend recently got back from the U.S. and she said the public transport was pretty bad?).

So far I've had La Crosse, Wisconsin in mind (nice town, relatively close to Madison and the environment/outdoor life looks really nice), but I've also been looking at Washington state, California, Oregon, Michigan and New York (Oswego) :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

Comments/advice would be greatly appreciated! :slight_smile:

2. arturoenrico

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people