1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What do you think about Buddhism?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Beware Of You, Jun 25, 2013.

1. Beware Of You

My therapist has put me onto some of their meditational type exercises with breathing and the like to help me calm down if I am anxious about myself.

Thing is looking into it has got me interested in Buddhism as a whole, I studied it at school and sort of enjoyed going to a temple and the like. It doesn't appear to be homophobic at all (the only restriction is that monks/nuns can't have sex full stop regardless of orientation) and appears to be accepting of all (sadly some Burmese buddhist have forgotten this) .

I dunno, it just seems to be the only religion (more a philosophy) I could see myself following, alot of the buddha's teachings seem to have an understanding of how humans mind works , unlike other religions .

2. john1b1

john1b1 Guest

There is definitely some good wisdom to be gained from Buddhism, but I wouldn't be so hasty to adopt it as a religion. Buddhism definitely is rooted in the mystical, with reincarnation and enlightenment and all that. The Dalai Lama is believed to be the direct reincarnation of the Buddha. Like, same person, different body. This is the kind of thing that really hangs me up about religions.

There is a saying: if you meet the Buddha on a road, kill him. I interpret this as warning against tying worship and religion together with such philosophical wealth. It could be said that the teachings of the Buddha have been trapped by Buddhism. Some of the most enlightened writings I have ever found were written by buddhist monks, and I don't discount them just because of the religion of their authors. At the same time, I don't see the philosophy as dependent on the religion, so I am wary to join the religion.