1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Have you had any gay teachers, especially ones that were/are open about it?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by HuskyPup, Jul 3, 2013.

1. HuskyPup

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Has anyone here ever had any openly gay teachers in school? And if so what was it like, both for them, and in general? I had teachers I suspected were gay, but none that were really out about it, though a lot has changed since I graduated.

The reason I ask is that I’m looking at getting a masters in education, and teaching high-school English/Writing…hopefully at a magnet school for the arts, or a relatively liberal public school, or even a liberal private, Quaker or reformed Jewish school. I don’t plan to parade my sexual preference about, but at the same time, I’ve been out for years, and don’t want to keep it hidden. I wonder what difficulties and challenges it might bring. I’m certainly not the typical gay male, but I’m very eccentric, to say the least. So I’m curious to hear people’s thoughts on the matter.

I also have the feeling that it would be very hard to hide. Some students are just going to be able to tell though whatever subtle means, and teachers are very gossipy. I plan to marry my partner by next spring, so this would be hard to hide, with him being male.

And having been out of the closet, I don’t wanna have to crawl back in for huge periods of each day, though I'm tired of my job in a library, and want something with more interaction, and creative input involved. (I tend to be pretty extroverted.)

2. BornInTexas