1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Astronomers?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Krilky, Jul 4, 2013.

?

Are you an astronomer?

1. No, I do not ever look at the stars.

4 vote(s)
    16.7%
  2. I know a few constellations but I just look occasionally.

11 vote(s)
    45.8%
  3. I have a telescope that I use infrequently.

6 vote(s)
    25.0%
  4. I have a telescope that I use frequently.

1 vote(s)
    4.2%
  5. I have a high-end telescope.

1 vote(s)
    4.2%
  6. Astronomy is my job/something similar.

1 vote(s)
    4.2%
  1. Krilky

Krilky Guest

Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I just wanted to see if there are any fellow stargazers on this forum. And if so, what telescope do you have?
    I have an ancient 1 inch refractor--basically the exact same telescope Galileo used, except suckier.
    But I'm saving up for a 3.5-inch GOTO Meade.

2. LinkLarkin

Absolutely! I'm studying astrophysics at university, don't often get a chance for good old fashioned stargazing but I like to think that will change in the future. I own a 76mm Sky Watcher but I'm still trying to get used to it, I'm better at remembering stars and constellations than doing anything practical. I'm currently in Spain as part of my course helping to take some observations with a professional telescope though, pretty exciting! :slight_smile:

3. Shadow7796

Shadow7796 Guest

I am an amateur (seeing as I'm 16) but want to major in astrophysics in college. I have always loved astronomy, and I really want to learn more about it :slight_smile:

4. The username

If I wanted to be a researcher, which I was considering at one point (now that I am nearly done with university, I can confirm I do not), I definitely would have liked to go down the astronomy route. Specifically, I think planetary sciences would have been very interesting.