1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to super anti-gay mom y/n?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by theshybi, Jul 24, 2013.

1. theshybi

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    This has caused me hours of contemplation. Simply put my mother is completely homophobic and was raised that way. My father is the same way, but he'd be more accepting.

I'm not exactly homosexual, but I'm not straight either, I'm very bisexual with a love for women that probably outweighs my love for men. I know many straight up lesbians say that at first to ease their family into the discomfort, but with me it's totally true. I have a love for both genders and find them both attractive.

Anyway, I've been dropping hints around my mom since two years ago and each time she flares up hostile at the hints, more so at the world that it's acceptable to be gay or bisexual, than at me. "Thank goodness none of my daughters were queer!" is actually one of her less offensive lines.

So I'm not sure...should I come out to her? I'm so afraid. I don't want anyone to look at me different and having heard my mother call all those names to other people who love the same gender makes me very anxious. I could really care less what other people think, but when it comes to my family, specifically my mother whom I'm so close to it's not even funny, it really matters to me.

2. Straight ally

Santiago de los caballeros, Dominican Republic
    First i must ask you, how old are you? Are financially independant? If yes then it might be good idea to come out,as it can turn unbearable to just hide that for too long, and its better than she suddenly finding out you have a girlfriend. Also, even if she gets angry or depressed at first, she could accept it with time and you might end with her ideas changed and her full support.