1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Confused and In Need of Advice

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by archimedes, Aug 12, 2013.

1. archimedes

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi all,

I'm a 20 year old male and for a few years I've been coming to terms with the fact that I am, in my opinion gay. I have had girlfriends in the past, but have never felt a true connection to them, nor can I say I have ever realistically envisaged a future with them in which I would be happy.

The thought of being in a romantic relationship with a man, and perhaps adopting children is something that I really enjoy, from a sexual standpoint I have no experience with men, however I do think that if I fell in love with the right person, that I would not be opposed to gay sex.

I have always been somewhat different, and I have lied to myself about men I've found attractive. There is a post on this forum wherein someone recommends removing labels and judgement, and just seeing who you are attracted to on a day to day basis. My evidence from this is that while I can appreciate an attractive women, I am intellectually and romantically drawn to males.

I'm curious as to whether this is merely denial, or that I haven't met the right women. In my opinion it isn't, I do not believe I would have been so consumed by the thoughts of being gay, nor that I would have found the thoughts so uplifting.

I have a girlfriend currently, but I am going to tell her today that I believe I am gay, I suppose I'm looking for advice regarding the typicality of my story, and whether others can identify and therefore, at least somewhat, validate my idea that I am gay.