1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm NEW at this. Should I wear a GAY BUTTON?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by oddlife35, Aug 24, 2013.

1. oddlife35

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    In short: Should I wear a gay equality button in my new town to advertise to people that I just might be gay? I'm new at this.

I recently moved to a new city and I'm starting over with new friends at a new grad school.Though I've been gay all of my life... I've never actually been gay. (Does that make sense?) Right now I am not out to ANYONE, but I plan on eventually coming out to everyone soon.

Over the years, girls have tended to fall for me. Plus, I'm now open to dating guys. (I think... Don't get me wrong I've been feeling this all of my life, but it's just weird for me to say it.)

For these reasons, as soon as I come out to my close friends and family, I think I should advertise to people that I may potentially be gay by wearing an equality button (if one of those exist, I've only seen the symbol on Facebook), especially since I think I want to get married someday... to a guy. And, yeah, support equal rights baby. (Whatever.)

So is this a thing? Because first of all I've never seen anyone wear one, and secondly will I get overwhelmed by people asking me about it? I'm not used to talking about sex to my friends, let alone random people who would see my button.

Weird question?

2. SimpleMan

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    You could have one on your messenger bag or book bag. It's been a few years since college, but I think that is something that people still do. I haven't seen people wear buttons on their shirts since I was young, but if you want to wear one then don't be afraid to be a non-conformist! :slight_smile: