1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out Letter

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by drwinchester, Sep 1, 2013.

1. drwinchester

drwinchester Guest

So, I'm planning on coming out to family within the next few months. Though still wondering when would be the best time, I've been working on writing and revising my coming out letter. Some feedback would be much appreciated- I'm worried my tone's come across as a bit too desperate and pleading.

Thanks.

Dear Mom, Dad,

I wasn't sure how else to tell you. Certainly not the kind of thing I could ever imagine looking you in the eyes and blurting out and not the sort of thing I ever imagined I'd have to say. So while this may be a coward's way out, a letter seemed the only way I could do this with some semblance of a clear mind. After all, if anything, I'm a writer. Doubt that will ever change.

I never wanted to hurt you and the last thing I'd ever want is for what I'm about to say to come across as a betrayal. I've debated whether I should tell you or not for these past few months. Imagined every worst case scenario. Wondered if by telling the truth, I'd lose your support and respect.

But I've lied to you, and myself, for long enough. Eighteen years and it's high time I begin my new life as the real me. I can't keep forcing myself into a role I was never meant to play or wake up in a body that isn't my own.

Mom. Dad.

I'm transgender. I'm a man.