1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Came out on YouTube. The reactions are making me angry.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by mjlbc, Sep 11, 2013.

1. mjlbc

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I have been making videos on YouTube for over 7 years and I just posted a video tonight coming out and, even though this makes me a bit nervous, I just feel so angry with the responses I am getting.
    See the thing is, I have been married to a guy for over 3 years. I explain how this happened, I care about this guy and he is my best friend.
    I opened up and am so vulnerable in the video yet people are still trying to tell me that I am only bisexual or that I don't know myself. Some are even telling me they don't believe me, just because I made some acting videos YEARS ago. Why would this be an act??
    One guy is trying to say that since I don't look happy in the video, it must mean that I'm not really a lesbian.
    Am I supposed to come out and suddenly be so proud and happy, even though I feel ASHAMED for marrying someone and basically LYING to him and myself and everyone around us about my attraction to him?

I know I shouldn't have expected everyone to be supportive, I'm just so annoyed that people seem to ignore that I exposed a part of me that is EXTREMELY HARD to talk about for the first time. My life is going to be changing as a result of coming out and this is scary for me.

2. dfiant

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    What people think about you and say to you doesn't define the person you are, it defines the people they are :wink:

How can you be so angry at people who are obviously so uncomfortable with someone knowing who they are? I mean why are they so uncomfortable? Do you really care?

3. Werbinich