1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nearly revealed at the Workplace?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by OhBoy4991, Sep 23, 2013.

1. OhBoy4991

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi everyone. Thanks for taking time to read my post.
    I am a 19 year old sophomore in college. And yes, i'm gay, and in the closet to everyone except my parents, who don't accept it. I work for the athletic department at my school. Specifically, I am the main camera guy for the football team.
    We played our first away game at another school this past Saturday, and I filmed next to that school's camera person, a girl. After the game, the coaches and other staff were saying to me: "wow, she was good looking, wasn't she?", and "did you get her number?"
    I had no idea how to respond to this. I had no interest in looking at her. I did not find her attractive, because I don't find women attractive in that way. I brushed off the question and told them "no, I was busy doing my job".
    How should I respond in situations like this? If they ever find out my secret, I fear it will change the way EVERYONE at the college looks at me (even though they say they are OK with homosexuality)
    Should I just brush off their questions, or just tell them i'm wasn't attracted to the person they're referring to?

2. bscott92

I just ignore comments like that or find ways to change the subject. I just don't feel the need to tell everyone my personal business. That being said, someone I had just met was trying to hook me up with one of her friends. I told her I would have to ask my boyfriend. Made my whole day.

3. Chip

Board Member Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi, and welcome to EC.

The experience you're having is common to people who are closeted, and I can totally remember feeling that way myself.