1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

should i come out to my "buddy"? i'm pretty sure he's going to hate me for it...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Amerigo, Oct 3, 2013.

1. Amerigo

dearest EC people, i have an urgent question to ask, i must be haste as i do not have much time, any feedback big or small would be immensely appreciated!

here's the issue: i'm currently at university and am struggling to decide whether i should implicitly/explicitly come out to a potential "buddy".

background: since being an exchange student i decided to do what all exchange students do, and that's apply for a buddy - a buddy is a local student you're paired up with who can show you around, introduce you to local life, and hopefully be someone you get along with - my buddy seems very nice, i have no issues with him, i see no reason why we can't do any of the above, however there is one thing...

buddy: this buddy of mine originates from a fairly lgbt-intolerant country, what's more his facebook page clearly states his religion (which happens to strongly oppose homosexuality, so my intuition says he probably opposes it also). he's straight himself, and very often mentions his interest in girls light-heartedly (on a number of occasions i've been tempted to casually do the same, but instead referring to boys). whenever he mentions girls, i get the impression he is waiting for me to concur, and i never do. it's as though he's trying to figure out my orientation, whether i am worthy or not. i have only chatted via facebook, not yet met in person. it seems a lot harder to come out in person, especially to someone who may react with disapproval.