1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Missed coming out opportunities...is it MY fault or EVERYONE ELSES?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Hanspogi84, Oct 9, 2013.

1. Hanspogi84

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi everyone. I'm 29 years old and turning 30 next year...and it's making me feel a lot of REGRET that I wasted my 20's.

I grew up in the suburbs of New Jersey and I went on to attend college in New York City.

My college had a relatively large gay student population and many of the professors are also openly gay. Two of my classmates had a biological parent who is gay. I attended school in the Chelsea neighborhood in Manhattan which is the gayest neighborhood in the city. Even the streets adjacent to my dormitory were covered with rainbow flags...

So you might find it hard to believe that the VERY FIRST TIME I came out to anyone (other than family) was 3 months AFTER I graduated!!! That's after four years of being in a gay Mecca.

I suppose my reasons for not coming out to anyone can be traced back to how there was such little support for gay people in my high school. I became a recluse because of it and it was completely ingrained in my mind. My only "friend" was a devout Catholic and he was EXTREMELY homophobic (I knew him since elementary school). I never had a social life because I was afraid to talk to people because I wanted to avoid any questions about my sexuality that might come up.

But anyway, leaving my homophobic high school and heading off to college in the city, I felt that it would be a brand new start for me and that I could finally just be me, out and comfortable with myself. But there were several things which kept me bottled up...