1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So close

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by akram12, Nov 26, 2013.

1. akram12

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hey guys and gals,

I'm in my final year uni and I've finally decided to come out to some close friends. I've got two friends that I'm particularly close to and I'm pretty sure they'd both be cool about it. One of them is my housemate and it would make more sense to tell him first. The problem is I can never find a good way to bring up the topic. Even today I was in his room and we were just talking about random stuff like we usually do and then he started talking about relationships and some girl he likes. I thought about steering the conversation into coming out but I can't think of any non-awkward way to do so. I guess my problem is I want it to come up naturally as opposed to suddenly going "surprise! I'm gay!" but that's probably never going to happen. Anyway, if anybody's got some advice on how to bring the topic up in a not too embarrassing way then that would be much appreciated.

2. greatwhale

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I have come out to several people already and, most of the time, I never had to say the words "I'm gay".

Here's some alternatives:

I've decided that it's time for me to come out of the closet.

You know James, right? (you both know he's gay), well he and I have something in common.

I think I'm into dating guys.

I'm sure our friends here at EC can come up with other ways [that's a challenge folks!]

3. Mirko

Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi there, and welcome to Empty Closets! :slight_smile: