1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Loss of confidence.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by yahooooo, Jun 24, 2008.

1. yahooooo

yahooooo Guest

Well, usually I am a very bubbley, outgoing person, but recently I have started to find that I am getting a little less sure of myself- although I still manage to give out a very confident facade inside I can't help but worry what people are thinking about me. I know all this is probably very common amoung teenagers but it has really been effecting the one thing that I used to feel so comfortable doing - my sport.

Basically, in September of last year I started playing for a new team. It was a very huge step up from the last team, I think about five leagues, but I had someone pushing me on and it was supposed to improve my game, as I would be playing with better people. Anyway, I started the season feeling better than I ever had - I had spent alot of the summer training and was feeling really positive about it all.. then I had an accident which turned things upside down and changed a lot.

The first week back into the season I managed to really badly damage all the ligaments in my ankle. I was in a cast for about 3 weeks and wasn't allowed to play for 6 monthes. Sport is my stress relief. It is the one place I used to feel able to be myself, be confident and fit in. Of course not being able to walk, let alone play for so long really got to me. I was constantly in a bad mood and basically not very nice to be around. It was also during this time I started to think - realising that actually, maybe I had spent too much effort on sport as without it I felt like I had very little, and I also accepted the fact I was gay. It was a pretty stressful time really.