1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I come out?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by aceofspades, Dec 31, 2013.

1. aceofspades

Out Status:
    Not out at all
    First off, a bit about myself. I'm 18, female, and asexual. I've never been in a relationship before, nor have I ever found anyone attractive or wanted to be in one. Whenever a friend or family member starts talking about how I should get a boyfriend, I simply reply, "I'm not interested in getting one right now." It's an acceptable answer, and I can pretend easily enough that my standards are high and I haven't found anyone yet - which I've been doing for a couple years now. I'm still young, and it works.

But I'm a bit worried about the future. It's pretty clear that my parents are expecting me to get married and have children later in my life. My mother has even said that she would try to find a suitable man for me if I couldn't find one myself - although the ultimate decision is still mine, of course. I joke with her that I'm not considering marriage yet, it's too far off. And to be perfectly clear on this, I find the idea of sex kind of...disgusting. Other people like it, but that's their business, and I don't judge. However, sex is not something I would ever want to do.

So, I think that perhaps I should come out to my family and friends. But there's a lot of discrimination out there - studies say that asexuals are the most discriminated against group, even by other LGBT people, because our lack of sexual preference makes us seem...less than human. Some people make unwelcome advances claiming that asexuals 'just haven't experienced it yet,' or that asexual is just another label that shouldn't actually exist because there's too many. Obviously, I'm not particularly keen on dealing with these reactions.