1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How young is "too young"

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by BronzeElf, Jan 4, 2014.

1. BronzeElf

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Hi, I'm new to EC and I'm struggling with coming out to family. I'm 13, in eighth grade and I am out with almost everyone at school (like, if they ask, I don't lie about it) - and this is part of my issue. So, apparently somehow the news of me being gay got passed from the Middle School to the High School and after school a few weeks ago my brother asked me if I was gay. I sort-of laughed it off/played dumb with it, but it's just eating away at me.

I want to come out but I know nobody would take me seriously. Looking at me from an adult's point of view, I don't think I would believe myself either.

So, when did you come out, and was it a good choice or a bad one?

P.S: My mother is completely understanding of gay people/has multiple gay co-workers that she talks about as her friends. My brother-not so sure, but I mostly want to come out to just my brother right now. My brother is 17 years old and a senior in high-school.

-Thanks in advance :icon_bigg

#1 BronzeElf, Jan 4, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2014
  2. TJ

TJ

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    That's very cool of you to be cautious of how people could interpret someone your age coming out. :slight_smile:

I thought the same thing when I realized I was gay. Because of this, I waited until tenth grade to come out to my parents. For some reason, you become much more credible to your parents when you move up to high school. :grin:

If I were you, I'd still just wait a while longer. It seems bad of me to tell you that, but you're right - you will be more believable when older.

Very smart of you to be cautious like that. ^_^

3. BryanM

Gender Pronoun:
    They
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay