1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to Tell a New Roommate?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by hatethiscloset, Jan 8, 2014.

1. hatethiscloset

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    I'm currently a freshman in college, and when I was applying to schools last year I always got really excited at the prospect of being able to be completely out once I was at school. I figured since everyone is new and it is far enough from home, it would be easy to just tell everyone I'm gay from the start. Unfortunately, that didn't happen. When I got there I was so worried about making friends and being liked that I decided not to tell anyone right away, and because I have waited so long I just don't want to bother telling anyone this year. My new plan is to just wait until next year. Being that I haven't really found my friend group yet, and the school is pretty large, I think its safe to say that the people I see a lot this year won't really be involved in my life next year, so I want to take that opportunity to just start fresh and be out right away. However, I'm not sure exactly how I should start this process. I'm filling out a housing application next year, and my school encourages people to include a little blurb about themselves in their application for your roommates to read once you've been matched up. It would be much easier to include the fact that I'm gay in this blurb so that everyone knows come next year, but I'm not sure I feel comfortable doing that. I'm not the type to put it out there all the time, I'm a relatively masculine gay guy, you probably wouldn't guess that I was based on appearances. I'm worried that if I include that on my application that it will send the message that I perceive being gay as a really big deal or something, or that its a huge part of my life, when I don't think it is. So should I allude to it on the application or just wait until we are roomed together to