1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scared....

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by TrueLove, Jan 11, 2014.

1. TrueLove

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Hello all. I'm new to this. But I feel like I can share without any judgement so I'll just write what's on my mind. Oh and I chose trueLove as my user name because it's the name of a boat on Dawson's Creek, in case any of you wondered, it was the only thing I could think of.
    I'm 20 and a lesbian.
    But I'm scared of being a lesbian because I feel like my family will see me differently.
    I've told my two of my closest friends, and they accept me, but I can't talk to them about what I'm feeling or what I'm going through because they don't understand.
    I think I haven't felt comfortable talking about it out loud because I have a homophobic uncle and his words are always in the back of my mind.
    My mom thinks my brother is gay, although he hasn't said anything, she believes he is gay, and she once said that two gay kids would break her heart. After hearing that I could never tell my parents that I'm a lesbian.
    Even though I'm from LA, and the gay community is accepted, I'm scared of being who I am. I just want to get the confidence to be okay with who I am, and I want to be able to tell my parents and not feel ashamed about it. I'm scared and I feel alone.

#1 TrueLove, Jan 11, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2014
  2. WearyWanderer

If I were you, I would try coming out to a single family member you know would be supportive. Maybe your brother, or your dad. Let them try to help you out through this and then tell your mom and maybe some other family members slowly. It would be hard at first, for sure, but with all the people she knows holding her hand through the way she will come around eventually.