1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kinda Out...But Kinda Not

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by femmeinpink, Jan 14, 2014.

1. femmeinpink

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    So...hi all! I'm newish to EC (been reading the forums for about a month but just started a profile) but the support I've found here is incredible so I'm here to stay :icon_bigg

Without going into too much detail, I've been questioning my sexuality for a few months now but I think deep down I've kinda known for awhile. I was never like all my friends, having boyfriends and crushes from middle school on. I think I can count on one hand the guys I've 'crushed' on but always just in a "Oh, he's nice and is attractive" way but never more than that. So I finally came out to myself as a lesbian. It feels so freeing to accept myself and realize that my feelings for girls, while subtle, are still very real.

The problem is coming out to everyone else. I want to do it, because I'm finally happy with who I am and I want everyone I know to be too. But I haven't figured out how to. Complicating the issue is that my little sister has her first boyfriend and understandably, my parents are happy for her. I think they expect me to have one too, as I've just graduated college and have yet to go on more than 1 date with anyone! I know I'm a late bloomer though and now that I've accepted who I am, I'd be willing to date some girls once I get settled in a new place with a job.