1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

err... any advice?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Rob13, Mar 27, 2007.

1. Rob13

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Ok, here's my story..

I am 17 (almost 18 horray!) and I am in my final year of high school. I have come out to NO ONE in my school/town/family. I know I am gay and I have admitted it to myself. The only people I have come out to are people I have met on the internet who I think would understand me. I plan on coming out when I go off to university next year... I don't want to come out here because it's a homophobic town, my dad is somewhat homophobic.. and i am really just scared of how others would treat me here... I am having a really hard time to keep it in... and i have no-one here to talk to about it.. except for the internet... I dunno. i guess I just need advice on how to cope with it until fall... or if I should actually tell someone.. ie.. my mom? I feel she would be the only one to fully understand me at the begining.. but I really wouldn't want to put her in the position of only her knowing and having to keep it a secrete until I am ready.. I can usually keep my cool about it though.. but I was watching the movie "V for Vendetta" and it was at the part where it shows the past and the girl coming out to her family and her family being angry and upset about it.. she said she couldn't have done it with out her girlfriend holding her hand... i couldn't help it and I started balling. It was totally unexpected for me.. I am afraid of that reaction and the fact I don't have anyone to do it with.. which I know isn't necessary... but it still made me feel bad. That moment caused me to go on the internet and find something like this to see if it could help me in any way. I hope this site can help me... I feel alone when I know I am really not. Just some thoughts of what I have said would be ni