1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Going to a Psychologist: Good or Bad idea?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Chiroptera, Mar 11, 2014.

1. Chiroptera

Admin Team Full Member

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hello!

I recently (2~3 months ago) discovered myself as bisexual. I'm already confortable with the idea, and i even had a temporary relationship with another guy in the city i live and study (im studying in another city, but i still depend on my parents financially), after i came out to friends and university colleagues.

However, now i'm now visiting my parents in their city and finally came out to them. My mother doesn't really understand bisexuality, and, although she says that i should seek happiness anyway, she is asking me to "wait a bit more, until you find a girl and then see if what you are saying is really true. Peraphs it is only confusion because you never dated a girl before and this guy appeared and influenced you." I told her i'm pretty sure i'm not straight, even if i'm wrong about bisexuality (which i really, really doubt), but she doesn't understand "how a person can feel attracted to two different things".