1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it time to leave the closet?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by xzmanxdiex, Jul 18, 2008.

1. xzmanxdiex

Well, here is my problem: I am a 18 year old male. I know full well that I am gay. I came out to myself about 2 years ago and to my friends about a year ago. While I am not openly gay, I will only tell the people I absolutely trust.

For the longest time, I have been telling myself that I will come out to basically everyone when I feel the time is ready. Up until now I though I would be ready when I graduated or would be in a relationship. Well, graduation is over and I'm moving into my dorm in about a month. I know that I need to come out to my family and basically everyone else but I'm afraid to. I have no doubt in my mind that my parents will accept me for who I am.

Now onto my problem. My mother drinks a little. The only thing she does is yell at you, and become emotionally unstable. I'm afraid that once I come out to her, she will throw it into my face when she isn't in the right state of mind. My mom and I are so close. I still wanna wait until I have a boyfriend and then show up one weekend end and, hopefully, they'll put two and two together. Am I over thinking everything? Assuming that one of the worse possible outcomes will happen? Should I just stop being a little bitch and take the plunge?

-Thanks

P.S. I am aware that my situation is a lot better than some people out there. Some people I know basically got dis owned for being gay. I would like to apologize to all of those people who, I'm sure, would rather be in my shoes than their own. My situation is somewhat petty compared to yours, but I appreciate all advice given to me.

2. TheSuburbian

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone