1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A mild existential crisis sent me here.

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by zcaptein, Mar 21, 2014.

1. zcaptein

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    A few people
    Hello, I'm zcaptein and I'm new here. Nice to meet you all and I hope I become a part of this helpful community.

So, as for my situation... I'm almost in my twenties and I'm a college student, so you pretty much get the kind of demographic I'm in. Other minor details, I'm Asian and currently living with my family. All this is just a helpful description to paint a picture of me in your head.
    If you find it dull, you can think of me as a pink t-rex instead. or whatever.

This is going to be a pretty long post and I apologize in advance. If I could buy you a cup of coffee or a beer, I would, believe me. I just need someone to listen to me
    ;u;

Ready? ok. -deep breath-

After years of introspection and denial [and angst, but who doesn't have angst?], I have come to realize that I am bi. My preference for gender changes and that doesn't bother me at all. However, accepting this within myself and telling the people close to me [my family, of course] are two entirely different things. I have only told two friends [not that close, we're more good acquaintances, I guess] and the both of them are also part of the LGBT community [one is bi, the other is lesbian. The lesbian told me bi people didn't really exist, they had to pick a preference. I need better LGBT friends.]

I can't stand the thought of telling straight girls, because I'm worried they will think I'm some kind of pervert or something. I know that is a highly idiotic way of thinking, but I can't shake it. I mean, I do admit that I find girl attractive and I can't help but look and admire from afar.