1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pulling on the closet handle

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by AshBee, Mar 22, 2014.

1. AshBee

Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    I joined here to get advice from others who would understand. I don't really have any friends, I was the quiet kid who sat in the back of the class and read the whole time. I'm not very good at keeping friends in real life, I just find it so much easier to communicate with people on the internet. My problem is I really want to come out to my family (mother and 3 brothers) but I'm just a nervous/anxious wreck about it. I had one girlfriend in high school who was openly gay, even brought her home but told my family she was a 'friend working on a school project'. She moved away and the long distance thing didn't work. I'm still hung up over her. She was my one and only girlfriend, but after her, I knew I had discovered a part of myself that had just been hidden away before. Anyways, I try to leave hints for my family. My mom was talking the other day about how someday I'd find a man that I could marry and be happy with, and I told her that it wouldn't make me happy. I also openly support gay rights in any conversations that come up. I've done what I call 'The Ellen Test' on my mom, which is basically casually mentioning Ellen DeGeneres in conversations to see what she thinks of her. All responses have been positive, but I'm still freaking out. I just feel like it would be so much easier to come out if I had some friends I could tell first so I had some support. I've even thought about therapy just so I could tell someone. I even have a letter written out that I'm just too scared to give to my mom. So any advice/support anyone could give would be appreciated. I found this site from a Kaelyn and Lucy youtube video and after spending a few hours reading others stories, I'm so glad I di