1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stopping Habits

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Hoppip, Jul 22, 2008.

1. Hoppip

Everyone has habits that get stuck with them after years and years of doing them. They can be little things, tick-like things, or full-fledged rituals. Not all of them are bad. Some, I guess, are kinda neutral.

I really wanna stop doing two things:

- cracking/popping my knuckles
    - biting my fingernails

Well, I suppose this thread could be mainly a discussion about habits/rituals, but also - how can you stop habits? I've heard of ignoring the urges, or doing something else...

So, what habits have you had, or do you have, and how have you stopped them? Any advice for a lifelong nail-biting-knuckle-popper?

2. Lexington

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I've been biting my nails for 38 years. I just decided I liked doing it, so I don't think I'm gonna stop anytime soon. :slight_smile: