1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

In need of some guidance....

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Wanderer94, Apr 28, 2014.

1. Wanderer94

Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Hi everyone,

For most of my life I've had an attraction to guys. I can remember in middle school being really attracted to my good friend and always feeling happy/lovey dovey when we hung out together. Some days when he wouldn't come to school I felt lost and completely sad that he wasn't around. That was the first real crush/infatuation that I can vividly remember, even though he was straight and never knew I secretly liked him. Currently I am a sophomore in college and am starting to confront my sexuality. I am in an honors program, I do well in school, and have a good set of friends, but do not always know how to express my feelings. I've been taught from an early age to keep problems to yourself. Right now my family is going through difficult financial times because my mom has been unemployed for five years and I am still paying for medical bills after a near-death auto accident I was in last summer. Everyday my parents fight over money and I've seen my mom fall into a borderline depression because she feels hopeless about her marriage and job situation. In addition to these worries and the stress of being a full-time college student, I'm gay. My older sister-who is openly gay- came out to my family before college and was completely shunned. My parents stopped paying for her tuition and denied her sexuality for years.We all talk and are all together once or twice a year, but my sister and parents have a fractured if not damaged relationship because of their views on homosexuality. I only learned of her sexual orientation before I left for college because she feared I'd shun her if she came out to me earlier. I'm now confronting my fears because being in the closet gives me a lot of anxiety. I hate