1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming Out During Project Grad

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Geek, May 24, 2014.

1. Geek

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    All but family
    Okay so I graduated yesterday from high school. (I know i'm so young don't judge me!) Anyways so after graduation I went to project grad. For those of you who haven't heard of project grad here's what it is. Immediately after graduation, the school takes the graduates out all night and don't tell them what they are doing. It goes all night and the aim is to prevent after parties with drugs and alcohol.

Anyways I'm at dinner with my friends(see post) and randomly I said

Me: "Anyways bob the answer to that question from Febuary, i'm Bi".
    Three people "cool"
    Michelle: "Well I'm as straight as this fork"

Not sure what to get out of that fork comment. Anyways I "came out" for the first time ever actually saying so outloud without being an emotional wreck. (!) Only thing is that i'm homoflexable so labeling myself as bi isn't exactly accurate. So I ask you EC, why would I say that i'm bi when i'm clearly not? Secondly does anyone have a similar experience where they knew they wouldn't see someone again and just said "F**k it i'm gay"?

2. Mirko

Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi there! Congrats on coming out. :slight_smile:

Well, it is possible that a part of you is not comfortable (yet) with the term gay. At a subconscious level you might feel that it is easier saying 'bi,' and it came out as such.

That said, I would suggest that you try to figure things out a bit more. Also, how do you feel when you say the phrase, 'I'm gay'?

3. Geek

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Questioning
    Out Status:
    All but family