1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do I move forward?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by mikeh, Aug 14, 2008.

1. mikeh

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    I have been reading other posts, and realize this topic has come up many times. I've been denying any possibility that I could be gay for the past 9 years, and had resigned myself to being alone the rest of my life. Only in the last 2 months did I finally begin to admit it to myself. Even then, I went back and forth a few times. Some times I think how happy I could be to share life with someone, other times I just can't believe that. I get an anxious feeling and I don't know where I want to cry or scream or what... I know this doesn't really change who I have always been--I still like working on old cars, still have the same friends I had yesterday... but I don't know what to do.

2 days ago, somehow I got it into my head that I had to come out to my parents. That made me physically sick for a while, but then I came to my senses. I know I'm not ready for that, and I will tell them if and when I decide to. But still, just the thought of that scares the hell out of me. My mother could be accepting. But my father... we're talking about an ex-marine that had a "silly faggot" t-shirt (until my mother's embarrassment led her to bleach that thing).

I was feeling somewhat better since finding this forum, but this morning I took a few steps backward. I almost came out to my aunt yesterday, but didn't. She gave me one of those "you can tell me anything, it's just between us" lines. Then this morning I find she was telling her friend about what I said, when they accidentally CC'd a reply to me. That made me angry more than anything, not sure if can trust her again.

Well, sorry for all my ramblings, it probably helps more than anything just to get some of this out there.

Michael

2. Dazed