1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Coming out to best friend...how??

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by chatoyant, Jun 5, 2014.

1. chatoyant

I've been having a lot of feelings about my sexuality lately and I'm almost positive that I'm either bisexual or lesbian. I really do not think that I am straight, it's just a matter of bi or lesbian. Since I am unsure though, I am not planning on fully coming out, I want to take time to be sure. I just want to tell one of my best friends that I am questioning and pretty sure that I'm not straight. She's really supportive and accepting, we've had conversations about stuff like this before and she is not homophobic. I think that she will be supportive and possibly helpful in getting me through this. I will have someone to talk to. The only problem is that I have never done this before! I don't know how to bring it up, where is the right place, what is the right time, or what to say. I could really use some advice on how to go about doing this! Thanks!

2. iamjustababy

iamjustababy Active Member

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Lesbian
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    The best thing to do is just say "(friends name), I think I'm gay", worked for me ^,^

3. Mirko

Admin Team Advisor Full Member

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi there! What might help is to speak with her somewhere, where you feel comfortable and know that no one else can listen in or overhear you coming out to her. You can create the the opportunity by inviting her over or by asking her if she would like to go for a walk for example.