How do I come out to my Family/Community/School

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by teddyc212, Jun 9, 2014.

1. teddyc212

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Not out at all
    My name is Teddy, I live in a pridominantly Christian community in North Carolina. I am 16 years old and I am a Junior in High School.

I have known that I am gay since I was 11, but I don't have any gay friends, family, people at school, or community leaders/mentors who are also gay. I have never had anyone who I can talk to and I feel isolated from my peers. My manager at work is training to be a pastor. My school guidance counselor is deeply involved in the Christian Church, and so are my parents. (they are vocaly against homosexuality)

Nobody at my school (~450 students) is openly gay and my school is a big part of my social life. I have a 4.0 Gpa, and I am a student ambassado.My mother works at the school that I go to.

Next year is my senior Prom; at my junior Prom this year, I didn't have a date. I was the only person in my social group who went alone! I know that it's just one night, but Prom is a very important event in my high school career. I don't want to go alone next year. I also don't want to take advantage of a girl, just to get a date! (prom isn't my number one priority, but it still concerns me)

Overall I don't know how my school, community, nor my life at home, will react to me coming out.
    -On one hand; I could come out and I inspire other peers of mine to come out as well.
    -But on the other hand, if I come out and no one else is gay, I risk being socially shunned and being "let go" from my job. What should I do???! Please help me!!!

2. Yossarian

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone