1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The struggles of a professional...

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Kasey, Jun 12, 2014.

1. Kasey

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    The students from my GSA are doing a day of silence tomorrow. For one as a teacher I can't participate.

Two... they said "We know you're an ally and supporter"...

That fucking hurt so much to hear. I wanted to just shout it out and show them the transgender keychain in my pocket and the flag back ground on my phone... let alone my pics that you all see of me as I truly am.

Ughhhhhh. Is it worth supporting them by getting most likely fired for coming out without tenure? No, too much is at stake.

That hurt way more than I thought...

I don't know if there is a point to this but not coming out is harder than coming out in this case for me.

2. looking for me

Gender Pronoun:
    She
    Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
  3. Ayla

Sexual Orientation:
    Bisexual
    Dear Kasey

Hang in there! Once you get tenure, I assume you can be as proud, out and supportive of any causes close to your heart as you want to be.

I really feel for you, it is obviously a difficult and distressing situation you are in. However time does fly and you will be out the other end of this sooner than you realise.

Try to focus on the other positives in your work and, if needed, engage in activism outside your professional sphere. This will help make time fly faster and easier.

(PS I don't actually know what a GSA is and what "doing a day of silence" is but assume they relate to sexuality and gender identity issues).

i wish you all the best.

4. Randy

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people