1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by hoodie boy, Jun 20, 2014.

1. hoodie boy

I'm currently a college freshman. I'm in the closet, but I'm considering coming out to my group of friends. Most of them are fairly liberal and probably wouldn't think twice if I revealed my orientation. However, there is one guy in the group who is quite conservative and, as a result, quite homophobic. Naturally, this is also a guy who I have a bit of a crush on. If he learned that I was gay, he would either freeze up in terror or walk away (although I have the ridiculous notion that he might actually be gay himself). He's a good friend, and we have spent a considerable amount of time together outside of class (I've helped him with school work and we've watched a ton of anime together).

Is it worth risking this friendship by coming out? I'm not sure how I'll react if he completely shuns me. I'm also not sure how the others will treat him or me afterwards.

Should I still come out? I know the decision's mine, but any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. Yossarian

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone