1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My boyfriend won't come out to his family?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by RafaelRican, Jun 24, 2014.

1. RafaelRican

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Out to everyone
    Hi guys! I've seen this page yesterday and seemed very interesting so decided to join today so yes I'm a newbie! Lol, so hi!

Okay so let me start with the issue I'm having, I'm 21 and came out to my family last year 5 months after I got in my first serious relationship with my boyfriend of 1 year. I did it for me but for him aswell even if my family would be against it, I strongly believe that if you are man enough to get in a gay relationship you should be strong enough to come out. Unless there's a huge serious issue that can bring extremely bad dilemmas.

In this case though my boyfriend who's 34, has indeed present me to his friends and closest family members, sister, aunt and cousins. The issue is, 2 things. He sounds as if he is NEVER going to come out to his mother. We love each other very much, and he wants me to be the one he'll marry. But I just can't seem to accept the fact that I will always be hidden from his mother. It bothers me a lot.

He explains all the time that he knows why he says it, she's a homophobic person who rather see her kids in a casket underground than seeing them with a person of their same sex, but all I expect from him is to at least tell her "mom I'm gay and I married Rafael". Even of she hates it I just want to be known. Perhaps it's childish of me but this is why I need some advice regarding this.