1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Place To Go If Outed

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Saysay, Jun 27, 2014.

1. Saysay

I am not sure what to do about my situation. I am a graduate student that moved back home because I ran out of money, so now I commute to school. Enough people know about me on campus that I am afraid it will travel back to my family, but if that happens I don't know where I will go.

I have acquaintances on campus that I see and talk to in the hallways, but no close friends or anybody I see when I am away from campus. I don't really have a backup plan if I am outed and get kicked out. The university doesn't have any on-campus residence for graduate students, no funding, and I am barely paying for tuition and gas with my loans and grants. There is no way I could afford my own place if I was kicked out. I'm afraid I will end up homeless again, which is what ended up happening when I moved away from home the first time and didn't want to go back.

There's just so many people that have heard about me being gay that I can't imagine I can keep it a secret from my family for too much longer. And I can't imagine he wouldn't kick me out. He has said many times before that he thinks gays deserve the death penalty, that Hurricane Katrina was our fault, and he gets like red-in-the-face angry with gay characters on tv shows.

I've Googled shelters, but the only ones I see are for LGBTQI youth, not adults. I realize it is kind of pathetic that in my twenties I am in this situation, but I'm just deathly afraid of being homeless again.

2. gman025726

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    A few people
    I'm am so sorry you have to go through this! Do you have any friends or extended family you can stay with?

3. DancingGirl