1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice Explaining Non-binary Identities?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by Kaeden42, Jul 8, 2014.

1. Kaeden42

So I've been questioning for about 6 or 8 months, and have recently come to terms with being non-binary/trans-masculine. I'm out to a few people but I haven't tried coming out to anyone who didn't already understand non-binary identities yet. I'm planning on coming out to my mom's cousin this weekend. We are quite close and she's asked me in the past about my gender-non-conformity and seemed pretty cool about it, but I don't know how much she already knows about this stuff. My whole family's pretty accepting and there haven't been any problems with my gender presentation, (I was a paul bearer at my grandfather's funeral, and wore a shirt and tie along with my male cousins and uncles,) so I'm not really worried about her reaction, however I'm not sure how to explain some things.
    I've found a bunch of resources and stuff to show her and decided what I want to say but I'm not really sure how to explain the difference between gender expression and gender identity. I think the most likely question that I'll get is "How is this different from being a tomboy?" The only thing I can think of to explain it is that I don't like being referred to as a girl/lady/woman ect. or with feminine nicknames, but I'm not sure if that's concrete enough for her to understand.
    Do you folks have any other ideas or any advice in general? Any help would be much appreciated.

2. Wuggums47

Wuggums47 Guest