1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Helpp!

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by JurrBurr, Sep 4, 2008.

1. JurrBurr

JurrBurr Guest

So,

I have a clean slate. I am new to this school no one has really asked me any questions. But I have known I've been gay ever since middle school. I am a sophomore in high school now! I am sure my mom suspects I am... But like, I feel as if I have lied to my mother all my life. I hear her all the time saying, I can't wait til he gives me grand kids! But... My family disowned my cousin for coming out of the closet. I guess I am just scared and have no idea if I should come out?!

What do you think?

2. Derek the Wolf

If your family disowned your cousin, I wouldn't rush into telling her. Who was it that disowned your cousin? The family as a whole, or one individual? You may be able to come out in a limited fashion, you know, only telling people that you're close to and you know will react well. Just don't rush into it before you're ready, it may not be the right time for you yet.

3. JurrBurr

JurrBurr Guest

The whole family did. It's stupid, Like I am the only one who talks to him. But I am not so close to him that I could tell him! My family is all about their image in society and how it has to be perfect!

4. Derek the Wolf

If the family as a whole agreed to disown him, then I wouldn't tell any of them. At 16, you can't risk being kicked out of the house for something like this. If your parents are going to pay for college, then I wouldn't tell them until after you've finished 4 years. If they aren't, then I'd tell them after you've finished high school and you're set up with a decent job. Basically, you don't want to tell them when you're still dependent on them if it's a big risk. Good luck either way.

5. JurrBurr

JurrBurr Guest

Too true.