1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I come out in school without my parents knowing?

Discussion in 'Coming Out Advice' started by tommycee, Sep 4, 2014.

1. tommycee

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    I've been asked multiple times if I'm gay, and I really would like to come out. But here's the thing, I'm still new at my school so I don't know if there are homophobes there. I also don't want my parents to find out since they are homophobes. How do I come out at school without my parents finding out?

2. wolf of fire

My advice bring up some LGBT related stuff around people, if they react positively then tell them. To avoid your parents finding out just ask your friends before they meet them not to mention it.

3. Compute

Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    As wolf of fire said, if you see a positive vibe in people, then feel free to come out to people as long as you feel safe and encouraged. If you're in a situation where you feel your sexuality might cause a negative or hurtful consequence, then I'd hold off from being too open around those people. A good place to start is usually with close friends who you will know are supportive, or perhaps an LGBT society if there is one at your school.

To avoid parents knowing, make sure you make your situation clear to people. A lot of people will understand that you're not ready to be open with you parents and letting them know that will avoid them blurting it out in front of them which is never a good thing.

Good luck and I hope everything goes well (*hug*)

4. tommycee

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status:
    Some people
    Update: I came out to 2 people today! They took it really well. Hopefully I can come out to more tomorrow.

ShyTaco likes this.
  5. That one guy

Gender Pronoun:
    He
    Sexual Orientation:
    Gay
    Out Status: